Laredo, Texas – Ed Ramirez, Jr., chairman of the Vision 2013 Conference Planning Committee for the Laredo Chamber of Commerce, announced today the selection of Dennis E. Nixon as recipient of the 2013 Visionary Award.  The Visionary recognition is presented to an individual who has impacted the region’s growth and development, both as a representative of his/her industry and in an altruistic way.  In making the announcement, Ramirez stated, “Dennis Nixon is truly deserving of this honor.  His vision and leadership have certainly made a mark in the banking world; his commitment to Laredo is unquestionable.”
Presentation of the award will take place during the luncheon of the Vision 2013 Economic Outlook Conference slated for April 17 of this year at the Student Center of Texas A&M International University.  Ramirez also noted in his announcement that Nixon’s nomination is timely since the Vision Conference celebrates its 25th anniversary this year.  Already the conference planners are putting the final touches on the conference program, which will follow its annual half-day format.

Nixon’s Visionary recognition this year joins the likes of Visionary Award recipients Glenn Hart, Chairman and CEO of Laredo Energy, and Alejandro Junco De La Vega, President and CEO of Grupo Reforma, both of whom received the award in previous years. In setting up the criteria for the selection of award recipients, the Vision planners in 2010 determined that the Visionary Award deemed such importance that it would only be bestowed when and if it was determined that an individual merited such recognition – and not necessarily on an annual basis.  This makes it particularly noteworthy.

Dennis E. Nixon is President & CEO of International Bank of Commerce and Chairman of International Bancshares Corporation.  Since joining IBC in 1975, Nixon has been instrumental in International Bancshares Corporation’s ranking as the largest minority-owned bank organization in the continental United States.  Internationally, Nixon was instrumental in the passage of the North American Free Trade Agreement. In May of 2008, IBC was recognized with the United States-Mexico Chamber of Commerce’s Good Neighbor Award for the bank’s contribution to the passage of NAFTA, on its 15th anniversary.  An avid promoter of border communities, Nixon has constantly championed development of infrastructure and resources to advance trade between the U.S. and Mexico.

Dennis E. Nixon’s civic involvement has brought him a myriad of awards and recognitions on a national and international level. These include the Junior Achievement Business Hall of Fame Award, the Paul Harris Fellow Award given by Rotary International for outstanding community service, and the Eleanor Roosevelt Humanities Award given by the State of Israel for outstanding services to humanity.  In 2006, he was inducted into the prestigious Texas Business Hall of Fame.  In 2007 he was elected to serve on the board of directors of the United States Chamber of Commerce, and in 2008 he received the International Citizen Award presented by the World Affairs Council of San Antonio.  Dennis Nixon was then honored as “Mr. South Texas” by the Washington’s Birthday Celebration Association in 2010.

Dennis E. Nixon is a graduate of the University of Texas and he is married to Elma “Bavi” H. Nixon.  He has three children and five grandchildren.

For information on the Vision 2013 Economic Outlook Conference and the Visionary Award luncheon contact the Laredo Chamber of Commerce at 956-722-9895 or visit

Founded in 1915, the Laredo Chamber of Commerce is Laredo’s and Webb County’s longest running business organization.  It represents 675 businesses of the local community.  The Laredo Chamber of Commerce is accredited by the U.S. Chamber of Commerce with four stars.  Only 226 chambers of 6,936 chambers in the United States are accredited.  These elite chambers represent the top 3% of all chambers in the U.S.